Our approach

Using quotes relating  to the environmental impact of our purchases is nice, but it doesn't tell you a lot about our approach ... As we have nothing to hide, here is a non-exhaustive list of our efforts to reduce the impact of our restaurant. Do you have any ideas that we might have missed? Let us know!

And since we wouldn't dare sharing information without sources, you can find them at the bottom of this page :)

Our approach to reduce our environmental impact

Organic farming

ALL our products are from organic farming (some in transition). Scientific reports are clear *, eating local will not be enough to significantly reduce our impact. ( also, local pesticides, are not better for your health ...) The restaurant has been vegetarian since its conception, and has been vegan since the beginning of 2021, the impact of our plates is therefore automatically  far lesser than that of a restaurant with an equivalent offer using animal proteins *

Water

No bottled water whatsoever, filtered still or sparkling water is available for free. We want to avoid unnecessary transport of bottles and we say no to the sale of a vital resource for benefit

Fruits and vegetables

ALL of our vegetables are organically grown (some come from foraging in the nearby mountains) and come from less than 25 km around the restaurant. For the fruits, most are from Isère, but the climatic hazards being more and more regular and violent, and the organic fruit sector having dire needs of development in Isère, we have to expand to the nearby department of Drôme, or sometimes further away, but never further away than mainland France. (except for our citrus fruits which are from Corsican or Italian organic farming)

Local trade

We strive to work as much as possible with local producers and local businesses. Organic farming in Isère has some deficiencies (which are gradually being reduced), especially in cereals and seeds, which forces us to bring certain products from a little further. Our purchasing priority always follows the following logic: Isère, then Rhône Alpes, then France, and as a last resort, Europe.

Full transparency: European origin labeling laws being what they are, we (very rarely) buy products that are supposed to be French, Spanish or Italian, but are actually just packaged or processed in these countries, and the real origin is outside Europe (such as for example a dozen different olive oils that we believed to be European when ordering, actually turn out to be from  Tunisian olives...). However, we are very careful with the labels and do not repurchase these products.

The 5 exceptions

The only products coming from afar are all from organic farming and fair trade. These five products are: chocolate, which is supplied to us by Kaoka, an exemplary supplier in their environmental and social approach.

Coffee (flagship product of our 5 exceptions, which goes so far as to be inscribed in our name and identity). Michel comes from Colombia and knows the difficulties that coffee growers go through, so it was unthinkable to work on anything else than  the best coffee (in the social, ethical, environmental, AND quality sense), which is why we only offer organic and fair trade specialty coffee. Our cafes pay fairly the coffee growers and all have labels to prove it. In addition, Loutsa (our main supplier) strives to work with exemplary suppliers like Roasters united or Belco. They are involved in several social projects in regions operated by their partner coffee growers. They are all organic because coffee is one of the main consumers of pesticides in the world and the ecological impact is just as important as the social impact for us. You will sometimes notice some coffees that pass by the restaurant do not (yet) have the organic label, as they are in the process of transition. Their coffee is purchased at organic or biodynamic prices by our suppliers during the transition period to finance the label and prevent its economic burden from falling on coffee growers.

Sugar. From fair trade and organic farmers.

Spices, we work with two exceptional organic spice suppliers, Place des épices and épices de Shira who both go out of their way to gather only the best spices and make sure their suppliers are able to live from their trade.

The tea is supplied to us by Jardins de Gaïa, their approach is exemplary in the world of tea.

Water recycling

You will have noticed that we have a lot of plants. To avoid them having an impact on our water consumption, they only drink recycled water. The leftover water of water bottles that you have not finished, the water for washing and cooking the vegetables (which we have not seasoned since 2019 in order to be able to recover it, and because the salt water in the waterways is not without consequences either) are all gathered in a collection tray that we use to give drink to all of our plants. This allows us to recycle around 90 liters of water per week in summer (we keep less in winter since plants drink less in this period)

Furniture

All of our furniture comes from recycling, upcycled products, or as a last resort, PEFC or fsc wood from Chartreuse or France.

From the greens to the roots

Since the opening we strive to use all the edible parts of our vegetables. No edible parts  go in the trash without having served before a purpose in one way or another. (and for total transparency, we are unfortunately not perfect, we (very rarely) do not have time to process certain products and have to throw them in the compost without having been able to use them)

Sorting our waste

It seems obvious in Grenoble, but when you leave the region you quickly realize that this is not the case everywhere ... We sort all of our waste. Most of our waste is organic waste (compost). We try to give a second life to what we can (all the packaging protections of the products that we receive go to our ceramists so that they can in turn re use them to ship their ceramics i.e.) We avoid as much as possible plastic packaging and give preference to products packaged in compostable materials since we are aware that a lot of our waste in the recycling bin will never actually be recycled, and we believe that composting packaging is better than incinerating it or it ending on a landfill)

Air conditioner

We inherited it from the previous owner, and we learned that the moment where it has the most impact is at the end of its life, we decided to keep it. It is only used when the announced temperatures exceed 30 °. This use allows us, among other things, to extend the lifespan of all our refrigeration equipment which is not designed to withstand a heatwave in Grenoble like that of the last 3 years. Without air conditioning, we would have already had breakdowns on half of our refrigeration equipment (try to make an appointment in Grenoble in summer with a professional refrigeration equipment repairer, you'll have a laugh ...)

No napkins on the table

We couldn't make it  two months after opening systematically offering napkins in organic and fair trade fabric embroidered by Claire at the table. We quickly noticed that most of the napkins were unfolded, but not used. Sad to have to wash perfectly clean towels, we decided to stop offering them at the table. You will find napkins in strategic places around the tables, available if needed. The impact of this decision? 60% less towels to wash (if you are not very invested in ecology, or your impact, that also makes 60% less laundry and time spent on them ...)

Maintenance products

All our cleaning products are certified by several organizations. We try to use the simplest possible products while respecting hygiene standards.

Disposable dishes

When we offer take-out, it's in reusable, returnable containers. Any paper bags are fully compostable and recyclable, the coffee cups are also fully compostable

Portion control
 

We do our best to manage the portions you find on your plates as best as possible to limit the amount of waste. We weighed the leftovers on your plates over a month at the end of each service. We had an average of 27g of leftovers for every 32 guests, or 0.84g per person (the reality is that most trash comes from one or two plates, from one or two guests). We are aware that a month is not a huge sample, but we always use the same bin to collect the leftovers from the plates before going to the compost, and the volume has been constant since we have been monitoring (mid 2020).

Organic fabrics
 

The napkins are organic and fair trade cotton, embroidered by Claire.

The hand towels are in organic and fair trade cotton or linen.

The aprons are in organic and fair trade cotton, embroidered by Claire. (soon, the new ones will be in organic and fair trade cotton and recycled plastic from the sea)

The clothes are in organic and fair trade cotton or from thrift stores. (recycled plastic safety shoes from plastic bottles)

(soon) the chef jackets are in organic cotton and recycled plastic from the sea

* Sources

Sources on the difference between a meat and vegan diet:

Report towards a low carbon diet - WWF

My territory tomorrow - ADEME

Why is meat so bad for the planet? - The world

Environmental impacts of food - ADEME

To quote just them..

Sources for the need to consume on the very least organic products (the ideal being agroforestry) :

My territory tomorrow - ADEME

Environmental impacts of food - ADEME

An agroecological Europe in 2050 - IDDRI

Environment & agriculture, The key figures. 2018 Edition - GENERAL COMMISARIAT FOR SUSTAINABLE DEVELOPMENT

Ecological transition - ADEME

Notre démarche

Vous mettre des citations en rapport avec l'impact environnemental de nos achats, c'est joli, mais ça ne vous en dis pas énormément sur notre démarche... Comme on n'a rien à cacher, voici une liste non exhaustive de nos efforts pour réduire l'impact de notre restaurant. Vous avez des idées qui nous auraient échappés? Faites nous en part!

Et comme on ne se permettrait pas de diffuser des informations sans sources, vous pouvez les trouver en bas de page :)

Notre démarche pour réduire notre impact environnemental

Agriculture biologique

TOUS nos produits sont issus de l'agriculture biologique ( certains en transition). Les rapports scientifiques sont clairs*, manger local ne suffira pas pour réduire notre impact de manière significative. (nous partons du principe que les pesticides locaux, c'est pas meilleur pour la santé...) Le restaurant est végétarien depuis sa conception, est végan depuis début 2021, l'impact de nos assiettes est donc d'office, moindre que celui d'un restaurant avec une offre équivalente carnée*

L'eau

Pas de bouteilles d’eau, de l’eau filtrée plate ou pétillante est disponible gratuitement. Nous évitons les transports inutiles de bouteilles et on dis non à la vente à profit d’une resource vitale

Fruits et légumes

TOUS nos légumes sont de l'agriculture biologique (quelques uns de cueillettes sauvages) et de moins de 25 km du restaurant. Pour les fruits, la plupart sont isérois, mais les aléas climatiques étant de plus en plus réguliers, et la filière fruits bio ayant des carences en Isère, nous nous rabattons sur les fruits de la Drôme, ou au plus loin, de France en cas extrême ( sauf pour nos agrumes qui sont de l'agriculture biologique corse ou italienne)

Commerce local

Nous nous efforçons de travailler le maximum possible avec des producteurs et des acteurs locaux. L'agriculture biologique iséroise aillant des carences (qui se réduisent peu à peu), surtout dans les céréales et les graines, nous force à faire venir d'un peu plus loin certains produits. Notre priorité d'achats suis toujours la logique suivante: Isère, puis Rhône alpes, puis France, et en dernier recours, l'Europe.

Transparence totale: Les lois européennes sur l'étiquetage des origines étant ce qu'elles sont, il nous arrive (très peu souvent) d'acheter des produits sensés être français, espagnols ou italiens, mais sont en réalité juste emballés ou transformés dans ces pays, et l'origine réel est hors Europe (comme par exemple une dizaine d'huiles d'olives que l'on a cru être européennes lors de la commande, s'avèrent en réalité être tunisiennes...). Nous sommes cependant très attentifs aux étiquettes et ne rachetons pas ces produits.

Les 5 exceptions

Les seuls produits venant de loin sont tous issus de l'agriculture biologique et d'un commerce équitable. Ces cinq produits sont: le chocolat, qui nous est fourni par Kaoka, fournisseur exemplaire dans leur démarche environnementale et sociale.

Le café ( produit phare de nos 5 exceptions, qui va jusqu'à s'inscrire dans notre nom et notre identité). Michel est originaire de Colombie et connais les difficultés que vivent les caféiculteurs, il était donc impensable de travailler autre chose  que  les meilleurs crus de café (au sens social, éthique, environnemental, ET qualitatif), raison pour laquelle nous proposons uniquement du café de spécialité bio et équitable. Nos cafés rémunèrent de manière juste les caféiculteurs et ont tous des labels pour le prouver. Par ailleurs, Loutsa (notre principal fournisseur) s'efforce de travailler avec des fournisseurs exemplaires comme Roasters united ou Belco. Il sont impliqués dans plusieurs projets sociaux dans les régions exploitées par leurs caféiculteurs partenaires. Il sont tous bio car le café est l'un des principaux consommateurs de pesticides au monde et que l'impact écologique est tout aussi important que l'impact social pour nous. Vous remarquerez parfois certains cafés qui passent par le restaurant n'ont pas (encore) le label bio, car ils sont en cours de transition. Leur café est acheté au prix du bio ou du biodynamique par nos fournisseurs pendant la période de transition pour financer le label et éviter que la charge économique de celui ci retombe sur les caféiculteurs.

Le sucre. Issu du commerce équitable.

Les épices, nous travaillons avec deux fournisseurs d'épices bio d'exception, Place des épices et épices de Shira.

Le thé nous est fourni par Jardins de Gaïa, leur démarche est exemplaire dans le monde du thé

Recyclage de l'eau

Vous l'aurez remarqué, nous avons beaucoup de plantes. Pour éviter quelles aient un impact sur notre consommation d'eau, elles ne boivent que de l'eau recyclée. Les fonds de bouteilles d'eau que vous n'avez pas fini, les eaux de lavage et de cuisson des légumes (que l'on n'assaisonne plus depuis 2019 pour pouvoir les récupérer, et parce que l'eau salée dans les cours d'eau n'est pas sans conséquences non plus) se retrouvent toutes dans un bac de collecte qui nous sert à donner à boire à l'intégralité de nos plantes. Ça nous permet de recycler environ 90 litres d'eau par semaine en été (on en garde moins l'hiver puisque les plantes boivent moins)

Mobilier

L'ensemble de notre mobilier est issu de recycleries, produits upcyclés, ou en dernier recours, bois PEFC de Chartreuse ou de France.

Des fannes aux racines

Depuis l'ouverture nous nous efforçons d'utiliser l'intégralité des parties comestibles de nos légumes. Pas de parties comestibles à la poubelle sans avoir servi avant d'une manière ou d'une autre. ( et pour une transparence totale, nous ne sommes malheureusement pas parfaits, ils nous arrive (très rarement) de ne pas avoir le temps de traiter certains produits et de devoir les jeter au compost sans avoir pu les utiliser)

Tri de nos déchets

Ça parait évident à Grenoble, mais lorsque l'on quitte la région on se rend vite compte que ce n'est pas le cas partout... Nous trions l'intégralité de nos déchets. Les déchets organiques (compost) composent la plus grande partie de nos déchets. Nous essayons de donner une seconde vie à ceux que l'on peut ( toutes les protections d'emballage des produits que l'on reçoit repartent chez nos céramistes pour qu'elles puissent à leur tour les utiliser pour expédier) Nous évitons au maximum les emballages plastiques et privilégions les produits emballés en matières compostables puisque nous sommes conscients que beaucoup de nos déchets dans la poubelle recyclage ne le seront jamais, et on se dit qu'un emballage composté, c'est mieux qu'un emballage incinéré ou enfouit)

Climatisation

Nous l'avons hérité de l'ancien propriétaire, et sachant que le moment ou elle à le plus d'impact, c'est en fin de vie, nous avons décidé de la garder. On l'utilise que lorsque les températures annoncées dépassent les 30°. Cette utilisation nous permet entre autre, de rallonger la durée de vie de tous nos équipements frigorifiques qui ne sont pas conçus pour résister à une canicule grenobloise comme celle des 3 dernières années. Sans clim, on aurait déjà eu des pannes sur la moitié de nos équipements frigorifiques (essayez de prendre rendez vous en été à Grenoble avec un réparateur de matériel frigorifique professionnel, vous rigolerez...)

Pas de serviettes à table

Nous avons tenu deux mois d'ouverture en proposant systématiquement des serviettes en tissu bio et équitable brodés par Claire à table. Nous avons vite remarqué que la plupart des serviettes étaient dépliées, mais pas utilisées. Tristes de devoir laver des serviettes parfaitement propres, nous avons décidé d’arrêter de les proposer à table. Vous trouverez des serviettes à des endroits stratégiques autour des tables, à disposition si besoin. L'impact de cette décision? 60% de serviettes en moins à laver ( si vous n’êtes pas très investi dans l'écologie, ça fait aussi 60% moins de lessives et de temps passé dessus...)

Produits d'entretien

Tous nos produits d'entretien sont certifiés par plusieurs organismes. On essaye d'utiliser les produits les plus simples possibles tout en respectant les normes d'hygiène.

Vaisselle jetable

Lorsque nous proposons de la vente à emporter, c'est dans des contenants consignés. Les éventuels sacs en papier sont entièrement compostables et recyclables, les gobelets à café sont aussi entièrement compostables

Controle des portions
 

Nous nous efforçons de gérer le mieux possible les portions que vous retrouvez dans vos assiettes pour limiter la quantité de gaspillage. Nous avons pesé sur un mois les restes dans vos assiettes à chaque fin de service. Nous avons eu en moyenne 27g de déchets tous les 32 couverts, ou 0.84g par personne (la réalité est que la plupart des déchets sont condensés dans une assiette ou deux par service). Nous sommes conscients qu'un mois ne représente pas un échantillon énorme, mais nous utilisons toujours le même bac pour récupérer les restes des assiettes avant de partir au compost, et le volume est constant depuis que nous surveillons (mi 2020).

Tissus bio
 

Les serviettes de table sont en coton bio et équitable, brodées par Claire.

Les serviettes de main sont en coton ou lin bio et équitable.

Les tabliers sont en coton bio et équitable, brodés par Claire. (bientôt, les nouveaux seront en coton bio et équitable et plastique recyclé de la mer)

Les vêtements sont en coton bio et équitable ou de friperie. (chaussures de sécurité en plastique recyclé de bouteilles en plastique)

(bientôt) les vestes de cuisine sont en coton bio et plastique recyclé de la mer

* Sources